A Wilson Times Co. publication · Serving Southern Nash County Since 1947

Incumbents first to file in Spring Hope, Bailey

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


The filing period for November’s municipal elections in Nash County is underway.

The two-week filing period for town offices began at noon on Friday. Potential candidates will need to present filing forms and the required fee at the Nash County Board of Elections office for the intended seat during that time in order to be considered. Candidates must be at least 21 years old, reside and be registered in the electoral district for the office.

In Spring Hope, incumbents Brenda Lucas and Nancy Walker filed Friday seeking another term as town commissioners. Prudence Wilkins also filed Friday as a challenger for Walker’s seat. The filing fee to run for the Spring Hope Board of Commissioners is $10.

In Bailey, Ervin Powell, who was appointed as a town commissioner in April, is seeking his first full term on the town board. Powell is pastor of New Vision Community Church in Bailey.

Powell said he hopes to continue being a voice in his community.

“I want to be a voice that is heard on both sides of the fence, for the people of Bailey and as a commissioner for Bailey. I grew up in Bailey, and I want to see Bailey grow,” Powell said.

Three Bailey commissioners’ seats, currently held by Powell, Joel Killion and Allen Daniels, are currently up for grabs. The filing fee to run for Bailey Board of Commissioners is $5.

Bailey’s top job of mayor is also in play this fall. The position is currently held by Thomas Richards, who is finishing up his first term. Richards had not yet filed for re-election as of Monday afternoon. The filing fee for the Bailey mayor’s seat is $10.

No one has yet filed for any of the Middlesex town board seats, currently held by J.W. McClenny, Danny Alford and Cherrye High Davis. The filing fee for the commissioners’ seats is $5.

Filing period runs through noon on Friday, July 19.