A Wilson Times Co. publication · Serving Southern Nash County Since 1947

Area students are named AgYouth leaders

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.

Several area students have received AgYouth Leadership Awards from the Farm Credit Associations of North Carolina. The awards were established to honor students who excel in the classroom and community as leaders in their Future Farmers of America chapters and 4-H clubs. Among the 51 students recognized are Chandler Bryant of Bailey; Steven Bradley of Rocky Mount; Peyton Gardner and Jacob Hinson of Princeton; Hannah Mayo of Smithfield; Emily Kornegay of Goldsboro; Noah Summerlin of Mount Olive and Lucille Ketterer of Louisburg. The AgYouth Leadership Program is open to any senior student in good standing with his/her high school and FFA or 4-H program.

FFA advisers and 4-H leaders selected students to submit applications for the AgYouth Leadership Program. The AgYouth Leadership Committee reviewed and selected recipients. Award-winners will be invited to the local Farm Credit branch office to receive a certificate and to have their photograph taken for use in various Farm Credit publications. All winners will be eligible for scholarships awarded in May. In all, more than 110 applications were received for this program. Carolina Farm Credit is a stockholder-owned cooperative providing financing to full and part-time farmers and agricultural-related businesses and also provides financing for the construction and purchase of homes in 54 counties through 32 branch offices.